Foundation Courses

BCM109 Implementing a BCMS (BCM109)

This ‘Implementing a BCMS’ course is the ninth in our 9-part series of BCM Foundation short courses which, when taken together, provides an in-depth view of the Plan-Do-Check-Act business continuity management lifecycle.

It proceeds with particular emphasis on ISO 22301 (revised), the international standard for BCM.


This course is designed for executives, managers, business unit staff and business owners who are or may be involved in business continuity management.

It is also highly useful for emergency managers, internal and external auditors, records managers, administrative heads, and others responsible for the effective administration of any size of organization.

This course is particularly useful for newly-appointed Business Continuity staff, IT planners, or others who want to understand how to implement a Business Continuity program once it has been developed, or when you are still in the development stage.

At the conclusion of this course, participants should:
> have a solid understanding of the overall Business Continuity Management lifecycle
> be able to guide their business unit personnel through the development of practical and effective business recovery plans
  • Lesson 1 - Course Overview
  • Lesson 2 - 7 Steps to Organizational Resilience
  • Lesson 3 – Phase 1: Developing an Emergency Response Capability
  • Lesson 4 – Phase 2: Developing a Crisis Management Structure
  • Lesson 5 – Phase 2 (cont’d)
  • Lesson 6 - Phase 3: Business Recovery
  • Lesson 7 – Phase 4: Return to Normal
  • Lesson 8 - Continual Improvement of your BCMS
  • Lesson 9 - Short Quiz
Completion rules
  • All units must be completed
  • Leads to a certificate with a duration: Forever